

Tuckwell Alumni Committee Terms of Reference

Tuckwell Alumni form a community for life. Wherever they are, whatever they are doing, our Alumni Scholars are part of the Tuckwell network. As the Tuckwell Scholarship enters its second decade, and the Tuckwell Alumni community approaches critical mass, the opportunities that that network provides continue to grow. Our Tuckwell Alumni are already making an impact in Australia and around the world. We look forward to many decades of conversation, collegiality, and connection between Tuckwell Scholars and Tuckwell Alumni.

1. Objective

The Tuckwell Alumni Committee (the Committee) contributes to building an engaged and supportive alumni community by working in partnership with the Tuckwell Scholarship Program and the wider University.

Committee members provide advice, insight and contributions, and act in an ambassadorial capacity within the Tuckwell and ANU alumni community.

The Tuckwell Alumni community is supported by the Tuckwell Alumni Committee and by the Head of Scholars House, Program Director, and the full Scholars House team.

2. Role of the Committee

- Increase awareness and involvement: Enhance the visibility and participation of Tuckwell Alumni in the events and activities of the program.
- Organise and host events: Plan and host events that engage and celebrate Alumni both domestically and internationally.
- Review and recommend: Evaluate alumni engagement strategies and activities and provide recommendations to improve their effectiveness.

3. Membership

The Committee is comprised of a minimum of four and a maximum of six members:

- One Chair elected by the Committee.
- Three to five additional General Members due consideration will be given to diversity in the process of appointing members to the Committee.

The Committee and the Tuckwell Scholarship Program will work together in partnership to manage the recruitment and succession process to maintain full Committee membership.

The role of the Chair Is to lead meetings, foster collaboration, and provide direction to the Committee in alignment with the broader alumni program.

4. Eligibility

Committee members must be Tuckwell Scholars who have graduated from ANU.

Nominations to hold office will be considered by the Committee through an Expression of Interest (EOI) process communicated to Tuckwell Alumni via email or other electronic means.

Members will serve two-year terms, with the opportunity to extend their membership without EOI application for a maximum of one additional year. A member must provide written notice to both the Committee and the Tuckwell Scholarship Program should they wish to end their term prematurely, or if they wish to extend their term without EOI.

A member can serve as Chair for a maximum of two consecutive terms, after which a new Chair must have served a minimum of one term before the member can return to the position of Chair.

5. Conflict of Interest

Members are required to declare to the Chair any real, perceived, or potential conflict of interest they may have with any item on the Committee's agenda.

If the Chair deems the member to have a conflict of interest in a matter before the Committee, the member will be excused from discussions and deliberations on that matter.

6. Meeting frequency

The Committee will meet at least three times per calendar year.

Meetings may be held face-to-face, by telephone, videoconference, or other electronic means. Ad hoc meetings, teleconferences and email communication may occur throughout the year on an as needs basis.

Members are required to attend at least two of the three scheduled meetings. Members with a reasonable excuse should communicate this to the Chair in writing prior to the meeting.

A notice of meeting confirming the date, time, location, event details and agenda shall be forwarded to each member of the Committee at least a week prior to the date of the meeting by the Tuckwell Scholarship Program. The notice of meeting will include relevant supporting papers for the agenda items to be discussed. The agenda and supporting documents will be approved by the Chair prior to distribution to the committee.

The quorum for a meeting is three.

Committee decisions may be made at a scheduled meeting or through a written resolution agreed to and physically or electronically signed by a majority of those voting or a minimum of three members, whichever is greater. Decisions will be recorded by the Committee and shared with the Committee and the Tuckwell Scholarship Program.

7. Reporting

The Committee reports annually through the Tuckwell Scholarship Program to the Tuckwell-ANU Board. This report is due in the final quarter each year and should showcase the accomplishments, activities, and Impact of the Committee over the past 12 months.

8. Review and Amendments

These Terms of Reference can be reviewed and amended by the Committee, only with written approval from the Director of the Tuckwell Scholarship Program.

9. Confidentiality

Upon joining the Committee all members agree to abide by the ANU Code of Conduct