Selection panel

Find out more about the Tuckwell Scholarship Selection Panel members.

Dr Louise Tuckwell A

Dr Louise Tuckwell AO

Louise Tuckwell (née Wright) is an alumna of the University of Queensland (BDSc 1984) where she was awarded a University Medal.

Louise worked as a dentist for a number of years in Australia and the UK. She completed the first year of an MBA at the University of Adelaide before putting her energy into bringing up a family of four children, while managing three international moves with a husband who was frequently travelling all over the world. She has worked on a voluntary basis in schools, churches and other community organisations; has been a founding member of four book groups in three countries; enjoys composting; and has recently taken up quilting as a hobby.

In 2015 Louise was awarded an honorary Doctorate degree from ANU and in 2022 was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia.

Dr Graham Tuckwell AO

Graham Tuckwell is an alumnus of ANU (BEc (Hons) 1978 and LLB 1981).

Graham invented the concept of listing gold on the stock exchange – gold ETFs – and went on to build his company, ETF Securities Limited, into a leading issuer of Exchange Traded Products in Europe, the USA and Australia.  The European and USA businesses were sold in 2018 and the company was renamed ETFS Capital.  From its London base, it now invests its capital in start-up businesses in the ETF eco-sphere. Prior to establishing ETF Securities, Graham worked in corporate advisory and investment banking for 20 years in Australia and London, where he met his wife Louise. Before moving into investment banking, he worked as an economist in the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet in Canberra.

In 2015 Graham was awarded an honorary Doctorate degree from ANU and in 2022 was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia.

Dr Graham Tuckwell AO
Dr Megan Robertson

Dr Megan Robertson

Megan Robertson is an alumna of the University of Melbourne where she completed a Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery (MBBS). She is the current Group Chief Research Officer at St Vincent’s Health Australia and Director of Research at St Vincent’s Hospital, Melbourne.  She also works as a Senior Intensive Care Consultant at Epworth HealthCare (Richmond and Freemasons). She is on the boards of the Digital Health CRC, Opyl AI, St Vincent’s Institute of Medical Research, FearLess (PTSD-ANZ), and Queen’s College (Univ of Melbourne), and the Tuckwell Scholarship Selection Panel at ANU. She also works with national bodies including the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Healthcare, AusBiotech, and the National Health and Medical Research Council. Previously, she held positions as the Director of Professional Affairs, CICM, as the Executive Director of Research at Epworth HealthCare, and as the Co-Director of the Intensive Care Unit at Epworth Freemasons.

Dr Malcolm Allbrook

Malcolm Allbrook is Managing Editor of the Australian Dictionary of Biography and a Research Fellow in the National Centre of Biography, School of History, the Australian National University. An alumnus of the University of Western Australia (BA Hons 1977; BSW 1980) and Griffith University (PhD 2008), he worked in senior management with the Western Australian government, and then in research and management roles with Aboriginal community organisations in the Kimberley and Pilbara regions of WA, before joining the ANU in 2011.

The author or co-author of four books and numerous articles, he strongly believes in the power of education to transform lives and communities. He is committed to enhancing educational opportunities for all Australians, including those who may face barriers to fulfilling their potential by virtue of their places of residence, social or family backgrounds

Dr Malcolm Allbrook
Prof. Anthony Connolly

Professor Anthony Connolly

Professor Anthony Connolly is Dean of the ANU College of Law. He is the author of Cultural Difference on Trial: The Nature and Limits of Judicial Understanding (Routledge: 2010) and The Foundations of Australian Public Law: State, Power, Accountability (Cambridge University Press: 2017). He is the editor of Indigenous Rights (Routledge: 2009), Public Law in the Age of Statutes (with D. Stewart) (Federation Press: 2015), and Cultural Heritage Rights (Routledge: 2015). In addition, he has published a number of book chapters and journal articles on legal philosophy, indigenous rights, and public law.

Prior to entering academia, he was an Indigenous rights lawyer working with Indigenous communities in Western Australia on native title, cultural heritage protection, other human rights matters. His research, teaching, leadership and outreach activities as a Professor at the ANU continue to reflect his broader legal commitments and expertise.

Mr Stephen Minns

Stephen Minns is an alumna of the University of New South Wales with a Bachelor of Laws and a Bachelor of Commerce.

He is a corporate partner in the Melbourne office of King & Wood Mallesons, an international law firm, where he works on public and private mergers and acquisitions and corporate governance.  He has worked in both the Sydney and Melbourne offices and from 2013 to 2019, he was the Australian Chairman of the firm.  He also spends part of his time involved in the international operations of King & Wood Mallesons in China, Hong Kong and Singapore.  Prior to becoming a lawyer, Stephen was an investment banker.

Mr Stephen Minns