Tuckwell Scholarships Awarded for 2023

15 July 2022

The Tuckwell Scholarship Program is pleased to announce its tenth annual award of 25 Scholarships, to students who will commence their undergraduate studies at ANU in February 2023.

“We are delighted to welcome to the Tuckwell community another 25 truly exceptional young people from across Australia” said founder Dr Louise Tuckwell AO. “The panel this year has been impressed by their academic and personal achievements, as well as their commitment to their diverse communities.”

“The Tuckwell Scholarship is a unique and life-changing opportunity for exceptional young people to get together, share their ideas and inspire each other” said founder Dr Graham Tuckwell AO. “This year we have again received an enormous number of high quality applications, and I am confident that these talented young people will not only embody the Tuckwell attributes, they will also inspire others to strive and achieve.”

The Tuckwell Scholarship Program at the ANU is the most transformational undergraduate scholarship program in Australia. With a total scholarship package valued at up to $140,000, it offers funding to students for five years of full-time study; allowing them to take full advantage of their time at university, including the many academic, social, cultural, sporting and leadership opportunities that come with life on campus.

The 25 applicants from across Australia selected as 2023 Tuckwell Scholars are:

Jake Bradley

Smiths Hill High School


Chi Canty

Scotch Oakburn College


William Cassell

Barrenjoey High


Yuliana Chen

Brisbane State High


Matthew Clark

Xavier College


Georgia Cochran

Caboolture State High


Jade Cross

Westminster School


Finn Currie

Northern Beaches Secondary


David Dodson

Trinity Grammar, Kew


Peter Dodsworth

Epping Boys High


Priya Gokani

Killarney Heights High


Margot Harris

Ascham School


Liana Henderson-Drife

Ballarat Grammar


Jaison Krutik

Reddam House


Caitlyn Martin

James Fallon High


William Maxwell

St. Leonard's College


Luke McNamara

St Aloysius' College


Narryna Nicholas

The Hobart College


Will Rankin

Muswellbrook High


Elizabeth Salter

Methodist Ladies College


Rosie Sewell

Sydney Girls High


Kate Snashall



Blaize Steele

The Gap State High


Hannah Stewart

Hastings Secondary College


Rune Chi Zhao

St Peter's Collegiate Girls'



Founded in 2013, the Program supports 120 current Scholars at ANU and 100 Alumni (now living and working worldwide). In addition to funding, a cornerstone of the Scholarship is Scholars House – the on-campus home of the Program – where Scholars can access private study spaces, mentoring from Tuckwell Fellows and Program Staff, community service opportunities, and social activities. Scholars are further supported with travel allowances, gym memberships, academic dinners, and a three-day, off-site camp that helps Scholars to develop invaluable friendships before semester begins. After graduation, Scholars enjoy lifelong membership of the young but growing Tuckwell alumni network, which already includes three Rhodes Scholars and a Fulbright Scholar.

The application process occurs in three stages with the 2023 Scholars being selected from a field of over 1,000 through a rigorous process designed to evaluate academic ability, as well as leadership potential, commitment to giving back and strength of character. The Scholars selected this year are a diverse cohort, which should contribute to a vibrant group who can learn from each other, which is one of the core aims and strengths of the Program.

Head of Scholars House, Associate Professor Ryan Goss, said “We look forward to welcoming our tenth cohort to campus in 2023, and can't wait to have them as part of our Scholars House community”.

In recognition of their talent and potential, all Stage 3 interviewees who did not receive a Tuckwell Scholarship have been offered the ANU All-Rounder Scholarship. This academic scholarship is valued at $8,000 per annum for up to four years and can be held in conjunction with equity-based scholarships.

ANU and the Tuckwell Scholarship Program would like to thank all applicants and their schools for their interest in ANU and the Program, and for making the effort and time required to complete the full application process.


Page Owner: Tuckwell