Tuckwell Scholarships Awarded for 2020

Successful Applicants Announced following the Interview Weekend
12 July 2019

We are thrilled to support another 25 outstanding young people from around the country in coming together to study at ANU and learn from each other

The Tuckwell Scholarship is excited to announce its seventh annual intake of new Scholars. Twenty-five Year 12 students from across Australia have been selected from a competitive field of 690 applicants and will commence at ANU in February 2020.

The Tuckwell Scholarship Program at the ANU is the most transformational undergraduate scholarship program in Australia. Valued at more than $125,000, it funds students for up to five years, allowing them to take full advantage of their time at university, including the many academic, social, cultural, sporting and leadership opportunities that come with life on campus.

The 2020 Scholars, as with all previous Scholars, were selected through a rigorous application and interview process designed to evaluate academic ability, as well as leadership potential, commitment to giving back and strength of character. The cohort includes an elite cross country skier; an aspiring filmmaker; a dancer who advocates for girls to engage with robotics; a Taekwondo black belt who co-chairs a local youth council; a mathematics tutor who also teaches people from disadvantaged backgrounds to swim; a software developer who raised funds for cancer research; a trampolinist who creates her own clothes; an aspiring doctor who ran a respite camp for children with severe disabilities; and a musician whose compositions were broadcast on ABC radio.

"We are thrilled to support another 25 outstanding young people from around the country in coming together to study at ANU and learn from each other," said founder Louise Tuckwell. "The accomplishments, dynamism, and commitment of the candidates selected are inspiring for all involved with the Program. They’ve all worked so hard to get to this point, and we look forward to supporting their bright futures."

Each Scholar will receive financial and other support valued at more than $25,000 per annum for the length of their degree programs, for up to five years full-time equivalent, as well as access to a transformative enrichment program which includes mentoring and skill development.

"This Scholarship is all about giving smart and talented people the opportunity to thrive so that they, in turn, can make great contributions to others in the future," said founder Graham Tuckwell. "Recognition of the Program has gone from strength to strength since being launched more than seven years ago, but we want to ensure that every school in Australia knows about it so they can help their top students to apply".

The Tuckwell Scholarship Program always aims to have a broad spread of applicants and Scholars representing Australia as a whole.  This year we have selected Scholars from every State and Territory in Australia, with a majority being from State schools.

Student Name School State
Sophie Allister
Lachlan Anderson
Angus Atkinson
Samantha Barton
Sebastian Braham
Olivia Bunter
Ethan Do
Marissa Ellis
Matthew Foster
Mackenzie Francis-Brown
Nina Gannon
Sam Gollings
Riley Guyatt
Ben Harms
Stella Leonardi
Bridget Lunn
Isaac Martin
Lindsay McNeil
Henry Palmerlee
Jasmine Pearson
Hannah Price
Joseph Rangiah
Elise Rawlinson
Barnaby Russell
Chloe Woodburn
Gosford High School
Darwin High School
Merewether High School
Tumut High School
St Ignatius' College
Churchlands Senior High School
Melbourne High School
Trinity Bay State High School
Hale School
Walford Anglican School for Girls
St Ursula's College Toowoomba
Trinity Grammar School, Kew
Indooroopilly State High School
Gippsland Grammar
Moruya High School
Gungahlin College
SCECGS Redlands
Sydney Grammar School
Shenton College
Ivanhoe Girls Grammar School
Brisbane State High School
Wenona School
Hobart College
Caulfield Grammar School

From the 690 applicants, 73 were selected to attend the Interview Weekend. In recognition of their talent and potential, all interviewees who did not receive an offer of a Tuckwell Scholarship will be offered the inaugural ANU All-Rounder Scholarship. This new academic scholarship is valued at $8,000 per annum for up to four years and can be held in conjunction with equity-based scholarships.

"The qualities that all candidates demonstrated represent the qualities and values that we seek in our diverse and talented student body and we would love to have them all join our campus community next year", said Selection Panel Chair, Professor Raelene Frances.

Enquiries about the Tuckwell Scholarship can be submitted via our contact form.

Page owner: Tuckwell