Tuckwell Scholarships Awarded for 2021

22 January 2021

The Tuckwell Scholarship is pleased to announce its eighth intake of new Scholars who will commence at ANU in February 2021. Twenty-five students from across Australia have been selected from a competitive field of almost 1400 applicants, which is nearly double the previous application record. Scholars were selected on the basis of their intellect, character, leadership and commitment to Australia.

2021 Tuckwell Scholars (Alphabetical by Surname)

Student Name



Max Collingwood

Fort Street High School


Zoe Crooke

Fairholme College


Katja Curtin

Academy of Mary Immaculate


Janee Emms

Mirani State High School


Jacob Gome

Emmanuel College Inc.


Chloe Heiniger



Christoper Jackson

Williamstown High School


Mariane Johnstone

Unley High School


Chan Min Lee

Melbourne High School


Stephanie Lunn

Moruya High School


Nicholas Mayrhofer

Blue Mountains Grammar School


Finlay McCredie

SHORE - Sydney Church of England Grammar School


Imogen McDonald

Inverell High School


Caitlin McManus-Barrett

Sydney Girls High School


Jack Miller

St Augustine's College


Nikita Nunn

North Rockhampton State High School


Patrick O'Connor

Dapto High School


Oscar Pearce

Albert Park College


Jonathon Shiel-Dick

St Aloysius' College


Madeleine Sloan

Sydney Girls High School


Rohan Torok

Rosny College


Harrison Tunks

Elizabeth College


Sebastian Viner

Hobart College


Olivia Von Bertouch

Santa Maria College - Perth


Ella Wishart

Tenterfield High School



Founded in 2013 by philanthropists Graham and Louise Tuckwell, the Tuckwell Scholarship is funded by the largest ever contribution from an Australian to an Australian university. Currently supporting more than 115 Scholars at ANU and with more than 70 graduates worldwide, the Scholarship is the most transformational undergraduate scholarship in Australia. Through its range of support and enrichment opportunities, and its communal setting in Scholars House on the ANU campus, the Scholarship enables exceptional young people to realise their potential and make a positive difference in the lives of others.

In addition to receiving a stipend of at least $22,350 per year for up to five years, Scholars have the opportunity to develop their skills, knowledge and character. This is achieved through the vibrant culture at Scholars House, where Scholars can access private study spaces, mentoring and support from Tuckwell Fellows and Program Staff, community service opportunities, and social activities. Scholars are further supported with travel allowances, gym memberships, academic dinners, and a three-day, off-site camp that helps Scholars to develop invaluable friendships before semester begins. After graduation, Scholars enjoy lifelong membership of the global Tuckwell alumni network which includes two Rhodes Scholars.

The application process is designed to evaluate academic ability, as well as leadership potential, commitment to giving back and strength of character. In response to the impact of COVID on schools and students in 2020, the process and timeline was adjusted to ensure all candidates could submit their best-possible application. In January 2021, shortlisted candidates participated in the first-ever Stage 3 online interviews with the Selection Panel who were thrilled with the quality, diversity and resilience of the candidate pool.

The Scholarship thanks all candidates, their families, and their schools for their interest in the Program. In recognition of their talent and potential, and the invaluable contribution they will make to ANU, all Stage 3 candidaites who did not receive an offer of a Tuckwell Scholarship have been offered the ANU All-Rounder Scholarship. This academic scholarship is valued at $8,000 per year for up to four years and can be held in conjunction with other equity-based scholarships.

Page owner: Tuckwell