Meet our 2021 Bell Ringer

13 November 2020

I’ve been able focus on my overall university experience

The Tuckwell Scholarship is pleased to announce that Isaac Martin (2020 Tuckwell Scholar) from Gundaroo, NSW has been elected by his peers to the position of Bell Ringer for 2021.

The position is a prestigious appointment awarded to a Tuckwell Scholar from the most recent cohort who has consistently demonstrated the Tuckwell attributes and who best represents what it means to be a Tuckwell Scholar. The position title stems from the Tuckwell handbell used in the 'ringing in' ceremony at the annual Commencement Dinner. As Bell Ringer, Isaac will play a lead role in the 2021 Commencement Weekend festivities.

Isaac attended Gungahlin College, ACT and is currently studying a Bachelor of Engineering. Alongside his studies, he is a keen member of the ANU Solar Car Team who will compete in the prestigious Bridgestone World Solar Challenge (BWSC) in 2021. Among his many contributions to the Tuckwell community is the key role Isaac played in establishing the Green Gang: an environment and sustainability initiative that has introduced many new plants to Scholars House.

Living on campus has made it easy for Isaac to spend time doing what he enjoys whether it be studying at Scholars House, catching up with friends or working in the solar car workshop. Having been an active member of his residential community this year, Isaac has been offered the leadership position of Senior Resident in Lena Karmel Lodge for 2021; a role often held by Tuckwell Scholars across the various ANU residences.

When reflecting on what Tuckwell means to him, Isaac says he most values how the program enables its students to explore and fully participate in a transformative ANU experience, “I’ve been able focus on my overall university experience, rather than fixate on the pressures of study and career planning.”

In accepting the position of Bell Ringer, Isaac joins an impressive list of Scholars who have also held the role:

2014 - Matthew Jacob         

2015 - Mary Parker

2016 - Max Moffat

2017 - Sahibjeet Bains

2018 - Ryan Mannes

2019 - Ellie George    

Page owner: Tuckwell