Tuckwell Scholarships Awarded for 2022

16 July 2021

The accomplishments, dynamism, and commitment of these candidates are inspiring and we look forward to supporting their bright futures at ANU

The Tuckwell Scholarship Program is pleased to announce its ninth annual award of 25 Scholarships, to students who will commence their undergraduate studies at ANU in February 2022.

"We are thrilled to have selected another group of extraordinary Year 12 students from around the country," said founder Dr Louise Tuckwell. "The accomplishments, dynamism, and commitment of these candidates are inspiring and we look forward to supporting their bright futures at ANU."

"This Scholarship exists to give smart and talented people from a range of backgrounds the opportunity to interact with each other and thrive," said founder Dr Graham Tuckwell. “We had a record number of applications this year and were thrilled with the high quality of the candidates.  It is great to see the broad range of applications coming from all over Australia, from all types of schools, both city and country, and from every State and Territory.”

The Tuckwell Scholarship Program at the ANU is the most transformational undergraduate scholarship program in Australia. With a total scholarship package valued at more than $140,000, it offers funding to students for five years of full-time study; allowing them to take full advantage of their time at university, including the many academic, social, cultural, sporting and leadership opportunities that come with life on campus.

Founded in 2013, the Program is funded by the largest ever contribution from an Australian to an Australian university. The Program currently supports more than 118 current Scholars at ANU and there are now more than 70 alumni, living and working worldwide.

In addition to funding, a cornerstone of the Scholarship is Scholars House – the on-campus home of the Program – where Scholars can access private study spaces, mentoring from Tuckwell Fellows and Program Staff, community service opportunities, and social activities. Scholars are further supported with travel allowances, gym memberships, academic dinners, and a three-day, off-site camp that helps Scholars to develop invaluable friendships before semester begins. After graduation, Scholars enjoy lifelong membership of the young but growing Tuckwell alumni network, which already includes two Rhodes Scholars and a Fulbright Scholar.

The application process occurs in three stages with the 2022 Scholars being selected from a field of 1,100 through a rigorous process designed to evaluate academic ability, as well as leadership potential, commitment to giving back and strength of character. For the second year, due to Covid, the stage three interviews were all held online.

The Scholars selected this year are a particularly diverse cohort, with a pleasing mix between State and Private schools (the majority being from State schools), gender, regions, socio-economic, ethnicity and study plans, all of which should contribute to a vibrant group who can learn from each other, which is one of the aims and strengths of the Program.

The Tuckwell Scholars commencing in 2022 are:


School & State

Joshua Abelev

Cranbrook School - NSW, Bellevue Hill 

Guy Archibald

Churchlands Senior High School - WA, Churchlands 

Lola Archibald

The Gap State High School - QLD, The Gap 

Samantha Atherton

Brisbane Girls Grammar School - QLD, Brisbane 

Alexandra Bako

Kambala - NSW, Rose Bay 

Harrison Bowden

Georgiana Molloy Anglican School - WA, Yalyalup 

Amanda Bower

Mullumbimby High School - NSW, Mullumbimby 

Zahra Chew

Northern Beaches Secondary College Manly Campus - NSW, North Curl Curl 

Kate Chipman

Hornsby Girls High School - NSW, Hornsby 

Harrison Clubb

St Ignatius' College - NSW, Lane Cove 

Dhruv Hariharan

Knox Grammar School - NSW, Wahroonga 

Lea Hartley

Northern Beaches Secondary College Manly Campus - NSW, North Curl Curl 

Abby Kidston

Abbotsleigh - NSW, Wahroonga 

Jordan King

Armidale Secondary College - NSW, Armidale 

Theo Mirrlees-Black

SCECGS Redlands - NSW, Cremorne 

Rhys Nickerson

Brisbane State High School - QLD, South Brisbane 

Milla Papallo

Northern Beaches Secondary College Mackellar Girls Campus - NSW, Manly Vale 

Anna Polacheck

St Michael's Collegiate School - TAS, Hobart 

Ashwin Prakash

Melbourne High School - VIC, South Yarra 

Micah Sinclair

Perth Modern School - WA, Subiaco 

Hadyn Tang

Trinity Grammar School VIC Kew - VIC, Kew 

Ulrika Wild

Wangaratta High School - VIC, Wangaratta 

Shanni Yehuda

Sydney Girls High School - NSW, Surry Hills 

Elizabeth Yevdokimov

St Ursula's College - QLD, Toowoomba 

Bo Zeng

St Philip's College - NT, Alice Springs 

Head of Scholars House, Associate Professor Ryan Goss, said “We look forward to welcoming our ninth cohort to campus in 2022, and can't wait to have them as part of our Scholars House community”.

In recognition of their talent and potential, all Stage 3 interviewees who did not receive a Tuckwell Scholarship have been offered the ANU All-Rounder Scholarship. This academic scholarship is valued at $8,000 per annum for up to four years and can be held in conjunction with equity-based scholarships.

ANU and the Tuckwell Scholarship Program would like to thank all applicants and their schools for their interest in the ANU and Program and for taking the time required to complete the full application process.

Page owner: Tuckwell